Health Beauty Studio
Image default

Yoga – About Yoga, 6 Branches, Benefits, and More

About Yoga

Yoga is a popular form of exercise around the world. It is a performance of the body and mind. It involves processes of movement, meditation, and breathing to promote physical and mental well-being. Besides, there are different types of Yoga and many disciplines within the practice. Regular yoga practice can promote Trusted Source’s endurance, strength, calmness, flexibility, and well-being.

The word “Yoga” is from the Sanskrit root “Yuj”, which means “to unite” or “to unite” or “to unite”. Therefore, the goal is self-realization, overcoming all kinds of suffering that leads to “the state of liberation (Moksha) or“ freedom ”(Kaivalya).

So, the five essentials are Prithvi (earth), Jal ( water), Agni (fire), Vayu (air), and akasha (ether or space). Incorporating meditation and breathing into Yoga can help improve a person’s mental well-being. And also regular yoga practice creates clarity and peace of mind; increases body awareness; relieves chronic stress patterns; relaxes the mind; focuses attention, and sharpens concentration.

Six Branches of Yoga

  1. Hatha: Firstly, the physical and mental branch aims to prepare the body and the mind.
  2. Raja: This branch involves meditation and strict observance of a series of disciplinary steps known as the eight branches of Yoga.
  3. Karma is a path that aims to create a future free from negativity and selfishness.
  4. Bhakti: It aims to establish the path of devotion, a positive way to channel emotions and cultivate acceptance and tolerance.
  5. Jnana: Besides, this branch of exercise deals with wisdom, the path of the scholar, and the growth of intelligence.
  6. Tantra: this is the way of ritual, rite, or the consummation of a relationship.

Benefits of Yoga

It can make you stronger and more flexible. You feel more focused and alert. And it can help you feel good and function better in your daily life.

Yoga can also help improve these conditions:

  • Poor blood circulation
  • Arthritis
  • Reduced mobility
  • Difficulty in breathing
  • Hypertension
  • Osteoporosis
  • Depression
  • Lower back pain
  • Headache
  • Tension or stress

It is recommended to get up between 4 and 6 a.m. when the world is still asleep and practice meditation and asanas. It is advisable to practice Yoga in the morning or at night.

Also Read: Fitness – Why?, How to Choose?, Benefits and More

Who Shouldn’t Do Yoga?

  • Women should refrain from regularly practicing Yoga, especially asanas, during menstruation. Instead, practice relaxation techniques and pranayama.
  • It is not good in a state of exhaustion, illness, haste, or under conditions of acute stress.
  • Do not shower, drink water, or eat for 30 minutes after doing it.
  • Do not exercise vigorously.
  • According to the texts for the spiritual seeker, one must follow the Yamas or the restrictions. These are the basic principles to lead spiritual growth.
  • In case of illness, surgery, or any sprain or fracture, one should refrain from practicing. They can resume after consulting with experts.
  • Do not practice in extreme and challenging weather conditions (too hot, too cold, or humid)
  • Do not practice immediately after meals. Wait 2-3 hours after a heavy meal.